Skip links

May 21, 1950 – Ponta Delgada wins U.S. Amateur Cup

Post by

Ponta Delgada SC won the U.S. Amateur Cup for the fourth time in five years. Ponta Delgada became the first team to win three successive U.S. Amateur Cup titles (1946-48), then lost to eventual champion Elizabeth (N.J.) SC in the 1949 tournament. Ponta Delgada was the first to capture the U.S. Amateur/Open Cup double in 1947, and this time came close, reaching the 1950 U.S. Open Cup final.

The “Pontas” including Ed Souza and John “Clarkie” Souza (pictured), who would go on to play for the U.S. in the 1950 World Cup in Brazil a month after winning the Amateur Cup.

Ponta Delgada, named for the administrative capital of São Miguel in the Azores,  won six U.S. Amateur Cup titles, the last in 1953.

May 21, 1950 – Pittsburgh Harmarville 1:4 (2:4 aggregate) Ponta Delgada at Bridgeville Park, U.S. Amateur Cup final



Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *